To Luke (Because you can ask for anything in my name…)

IMG_1446

You use my name like a prayer

Ask for all with the one word you speak.

It’s sufficient: I am always there.

You assume what I have I will share.

You want, you ask, you seek

Your whole life is a prayer.

You demand boldly–declare

my name while your thrown cup leaks–

frustrated when I seem not to care.

In pitiful offerings of tears

over curled lips and wet cheeks,

my name is your desperate prayer.

Even silent, your aim is clear.

Arms up, unashamed to be weak

before one whose love drives out fear.

Could he possibly beware

the day my name won’t suffice?

Will he call on the name that I preach?

Will he still hang his hopes on a prayer?

One thought on “To Luke (Because you can ask for anything in my name…)

Leave a Reply

