Favorite Quote Friday

From the novel I just finished, Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner:

“But keeping a journal then would have been like making notes while going over Niagara Falls in a barrel. Eventless as our life was, it swept us along… Henry James says somewhere that if you have to make notes on how a thing has struck you, it probably hasn’t struck you.”

And this explains why I don’t write on this blog as often as I intend to!

By the way, I loved this book so much that I’ve been on a Stegner kick. I’m now reading Big Rock Candy Mountain,  which I hear is analogous to one of my favorites, Steinbeck’s East of Eden.

Leave a Reply

