A Happy Ending

We visited the American Girl store this week with our two daughters. Claire was enchanted by all the miniature replicas of historical objects, much like I was as a child. I’ll try not to be too pushy, but I sure hope the girls learn to love those books and the corresponding accessories as much as I did!

My only previous visit to an American Girl store was when my husband took me to New York City during our spring break in 2009. I had just experienced the heartbreak of miscarriage and the trip was a distraction and a relief after a month of grieving. On that earlier occasion I had no way of knowing that my grief would not last much longer. In fact, after experiencing a miscarriage in February, I would give birth to our first daughter in December of that same year.

Visiting that store signified a happy reversal of fortune and offered me a moment of humble thankfulness. The words of Psalm 30 sprang to mind, reminding me that “weeping may remain for a night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.”

My experience, however, provides no guarantee or promise for anyone else struggling with the longing for children or the disappointment of miscarriage. I don’t pretend that it does.

All I know is that I have put my faith in the author of life, and I know that “in all things He works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28). There is a happy ending to every story that He is writing. I know enough about literature to know that there are a lot of ways to write a happy ending. Sometimes the happy ending is the long anticipated reversal of fortune–the longed for pregnancy, the romantic reunion; sometimes the happy ending is an unexpected twist which leaves the protagonist with a peace and contentment that doesn’t make any earthly sense (like that “peace of God, which transcends all understanding” described in Phillipians 4:7). The author of life is a creator who can make beauty rise from ashes, life spring from death, perseverance grow out of persecution, and happiness supplant sorrow.

I know that the night won’t last forever. Joy is coming. Look forward to the happy ending being written by the author of life.

4 thoughts on “A Happy Ending

  1. Katie says:

    so well written, yet again! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! Can’t you just picture 4 little girls at that museum together? Who will be more excited– us or them?!?! Or Grandma? ha!

  2. Thanks for the encouragement. It was hard to see all of the cute Halloween pictures in the last few days…I am in a period of mourning but hold on to a Hope greater than my own.

Leave a Reply

