In love

Image

It is hard to explain why anyone would want to have another baby. After going through pregnancy, childbirth, and those first disorienting days of life with a newborn; after finally getting to the point where that child is sleeping soundly through the night and no longer needs diapers; after realizing how much money it costs and energy one expends to raise a child, it would make sense to kick back and enjoy the results of your hard work. It does not make sense to go back for more…

But it is not logic that governs such decisions. It is love. Love provides a motive where logic does not.

And so it is that we find ourselves in love with yet another ridiculously cute baby girl: Rachel Grace, who entered the world on March 22 at 6 lbs. 14 oz. and 19.5 inches long with a full head of dark beautiful hair.

The full birth story starts a week before she was born when her very pregnant, full-time teacher mama started experiencing false labor signs that caused her to go to the hospital not once, but TWICE, desperately hoping that she was in labor. The third and final trip to L&D was an induction that went quite smoothly and ended at 8:35 p.m. when Rachel was born.

Being a mother of two, it turns out, requires a great deal of strategy at every turn. At times, one daughter or the other is left to cry for a moment while the needs of her sister take priority. At times, both daughters cry, and their mother feels like crying along with them. The days are broken down into three-hour cycles: make sure Claire is happily entertained, fed, and empty-bladdered; get Rachel up to nurse her; protect Rachel from Claire’s smothering version of love; put Rachel down for a nap; entertain Claire; repeat. If I do say so myself, I’m getting pretty good at it and have been able to get out at least once a day for a play date with friends. It really is hard to believe I’ve only been doing this for 5 weeks!

When people see me in the grocery store or singing for the worship team at church, with a baby strapped to me as I chase a toddler, they say “Oh my! You’ve got your hands full!” I’ll admit, I do. It wasn’t until the very last week of pregnancy that I remembered that dizzying and demanding thrill of a newborn and I started to wonder how I would survive. I find that it is love that sustains me–the tender love I feel for my helpless little Rachel, the proud love I feel for my strong-willed Claire, and the unchanging love I feel for my ever faithful husband who is my truest friend. And beneath all that, the embracing love of the Everlasting Arms of Him to whom I appeal each morning for more patience, more energy, more wisdom, more love to face the day ahead.

How can you not love that sweet little face??

Image

One thought on “In love

Leave a Reply

