Irony!

People who love literature love irony. I am one of those people.

This is why I must explain to you who will read this that I have created a situation of great irony for myself…

See, I started this blog a little prematurely. Paul & I had just returned from a really great interview and we were just SURE we were going to take Job #1. So sure, in fact, that I started a blog whose very TITLE and DOMAIN NAME only made sense if we got Job #1. Then, I went on to write my first post on this blog about how I was going to count my chickens before they hatched by planning for this new life, EVEN THOUGH this was totally ironic because I had just seen the literal reason why you cannot count your chickens before they hatch on my husband’s family farm.

Then I got ironied*. We ended up taking Job #2 for a whole host of reasons. And my blog name suddenly made no sense and so I panicked and tried to change it… but I couldn’t change the domain name because–guess what–I COUNTED MY CHICKENS BEFORE THEY HATCHED! And they never hatched! Or they hatched wrong! Or whatever!

This will make a really delightful illustration next time I have a classroom full of freshman.

Today, however, I’m feeling a little stupid. Turns out I’m not a fan of irony at my own expense… I’ve decided to leave the domain name for now rather than starting all over again. I’m not sure if it represents my having learned a lesson (Don’t count your chickens!) or my embracing the very thing I first blogged about (Count ’em anyways & live with the mistakes!) Isn’t that ironic?

*Apparently this is not a word. Go figure. How else am I supposed to say that??

Leave a Reply

